Sketching

 

Here I have drawn out 2 plans for one of my articles. idea 1 shows a picture of a cake that fills out tIMG_4811.jpghe whole of the one page, and then the writing in a shape to the left. I like this idea because the text is in the shape of  a doily, which links well to the theme because doily are often associated with cakes because they normally go around them. I also like tis because it would look very colour full and eye catching. I also like idea 2 because the image would fill out the whole of the 2 pages, and the text would fit in well with he negative spaces in
the picture, this is the picture that i have taken on my practice shots, so I think that the colours would look really warm and welcoming- like chocolate should look.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Draft Copies for my Magazine 

 

CHOCOLATE ARTICLE

Who doesn’t love chocolate?

Thanks to the Aztecs – people from the ancient tribes of Mexico and Central America who first ever created chocolate – we now have this wonderful creation that is universally loved.

The best part is you can use chocolate in almost anything; chocolate brownies, chocolate cake, chocolate cheesecake

However, there are some things that you probably didn’t know about chocolate…

 

DID YOU KNOW

  • Chocolate can be used to keep your skin healthy… no joke. Cocoa butter is marvellous- and it will even leave you with an aroma that will make everyone want to eat you.
  • It can make you smarter. I know this is pretty hard to believe but it’s true. Dark chocolate is exceptionally rich in flavanols (which are phytonutrient compounds that are found naturally in apples, grapes, tea, cocoa and cherries). But it doesn’t matter about all that technical stuff, all you need to know is that the flavanols improve the circulation around your body, fighting mental fatigue, making you more alert and generally a more efficient thinker.
  • Chocolate makes us happy! There are lots of natural things in chocolate that are good for your mood. There is a chemical that induces feelings associated with love as well as tryptophan, which make us very happy.

 

This is how you make a bunch of yummy chocolate brownies:

 

You will need…

400g caster sugar

225g butter (melted)

60g cocoa powder

1tsp vanilla extract

4 eggs

225g plain flour

½ baking powder

½ tsp salt

Method for brownies:

  • Firstly, preheat the oven to 180 C / Gas mark 4 and grease a 23x33cm baking tin with butter or line with grease proof picture.
  • After that, weigh the sugar, melted butter, vanilla extract, baking powder and salt into a bowl.
  • After that, sift the flour into the mixture and mix well.
  • Then, crack the eggs into a jug and whisk briefly. Add them into the mixture and mix again.
  • Carefully pour the mixture into the greased tin and place in the oven for 20-25 minutes.
  • When baked, leave to cool and cut into equal square slices.
  • Decorate how desired.

 

 

 

 

OREO CAKE VS KINDA CAKE ARTICLE

 

Oreo has become the best-selling cookie in the United States since its introduction in 1912.

 

The sweet creamed cookie worked its way over to the UK in 2008, and is now all the craze in the sweets and treats market judging from many pages on social media like Facebook.

There are countless videos being made on how to make recipes based all around Oreos.

However, there is another popular treat that sends us Brits chocolate crazy and that’s Kinder chocolate – Kinder Eggs, Kinder Buenos, Kinder Bon Bons – all sorts from the Kinder chocolate range. Kinder Chocolate originated in Germany in 1967. It seems that Kinder Chocolate brings out the kid in us all because it was originally produced for children (“kinder” means “children” in German), but it must be that delicious that people from all age ranges enjoy the yummy treats.

You might be thinking, ‘why compare a cookie and chocolate’?

This is why. Over the months, there has been an outbreak on social media of videos and tutorials of people making cakes, pies, and even sweet lasagnas.

The most popular products to make them with have been Oreos and Kinder Chocolate. For example, a recipe on the Food Bible’s Facebook page is Oreo Lasagna.

This starts by crushing Oreos and putting them in the bottom of a dish, then adding extra thick cream. After that they add a layer of melted chocolate, then another layer of cream.

Finally they add chocolate chips and more crushed Oreos on the top – and there you have it, Oreo Lasagna.

 

Here at Vook magazine we’ve decided to find out which is the best with the Oreo v Kinder taste test.

In the Oreo corner is a delicious cookies and cream chocolate cake, with a crunchy Oreo butter cream layer.

In the Kinder corner is a tasty chocolate cake with a nutty twist, layered with velvety chocolate icing and many Kinder treats.

The cakes were sampled by eight people who voted for their favourite.

Five out of the eight taste-testers gave a massive thumbs-up to the Oreo cake.

Here’s what they had to say.

Kinder fan Reece Payling, aged 17, a journalism student at Hillsborough College said: “The Kinder Cake was beautiful, flavorsome and it would definitely be something that Mary Berry would be proud of.

“The taste of peanut butter in the cake was to die for and was so unique. I don’t think I have ever tasted cake like it”.

 

Jane Parr, aged 48, a photographic lecturer at Sheffield College, preferred the Oreo cake.

She said: “I don’t really have a very sweet tooth so I was a little bit skeptical to whether I would like it or now.

“When I tasted it I was pleasantly surprised to find that it wasn’t particularly sweet, it was beautifully moist and tasted wonderful.”

So why don’t you have a go at making some wonderful recipes like these? Just head over to Facebook to the Food Bible Facebook page and you’ll find all sorts of delicious recipes like this.

 

By Miya Biggin

 

 


 

 

My Pictures

 

These are the pictures that i have taken that are going on my magazine. I have experimented by taking similar pictures but in different angles and different types of shots relating how close up. I have also decided to use the images that I have taken for my practice shots on my real thing as well because i feel like they went well enough to put them onto my magazine.

 

 

 

From looking at some of my images, I can see that some of them have got an orange tinge to them which I do not want as it doesn’t look natural in my images, therefore I am going to edit them in Photoshop by using this curves tool, by using the opposite colour on the spectrum to orange, which is blue, and adding a bit of this colour to balance it out…

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-28 at 09.38.39

 

from using this tool to change the cast of my image, this is the result..

 

 




 

 

Colour Pallets

 

To get an idea of what colours I should use for my text, I have done some colour swatches from my images to get an idea of what will work well with the pictures I am using.

This first image is for my Chocolate article and I have picked out the main colours that are within the photograph.

pallet

 

swatch

From looking at these colours, I have picked out my two favourite then looked at some colours that are very similar but are in more of a dark and lighter colour. I like these colours to use in this article because I think that they will stand out the most and go well with the photo, without it being too dark or too read, as the photo is quite dark in most areas.

 

 

These colour swatches are for my Kinder VS Oreo article.

 

kinder

 

kinder 1

Again, I have picked out the 2 main colours that I think would go well for my text colour and looked at carious colours relating to them.

 

oreo

 

oreo 1

 

 




 

Production

 

To start my designing off, I have created multiple designs so get an idea of what I will be wanting for my real design. From designing these, I have learnt that I want to keep the colour scheme to the dark browns and deep colours that are similar with he pictures. I also think that having the colour red in it (like the raspberries) is a good contrasting colour that stands out to the rest of the pictures. My favourite design out of all thee is the one with thee white squares, however, I am choosing to not proceed with his because don’t think it is right for the type of article i am doing, but may be using this idea in a different article that is more well suited to tis theme.

 


 

I haScreen Shot 2016-05-03 at 15.20.36.pngve now started to design one of my articles. I have decided to go with he colour scheme that i have chosen from the swatches that I did, as i found that they all go well together. I have a picture going across the top in a diagonal way, which means I will need my text to follow in the same direction. I did not know how to do this at first (as shown on the picture) however after asking one of my tutors, we both managed to figure this out together.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 15.24.52.png

 

I had to grab the points on the text box, and also create points, and then drag them to the position that i wanted, this would therefore create the shape that I wanted.

 

 


 

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 15.35.30.png

 

This is my design soft for one of my articles. From having a discussion with one of my tutors, we have both agreed that the text doesn’t look quite right in the place where it is. Its also fairly hard to read and we didn’t like that it looked too sectioned off. From realising this, I am now going to edit this so that the text fits well with he whole article and looks in place.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 15.50.59.png

 

I have not changed my text so that it is all in columns and grouped to together. This looks better because everything looks in place and it all looks like its apart of the article.

 


 

 

I have come to a finish with my Chocolate double page article. However, when asking one of my tutors what she thought of it, she said that everything was well coordinated, but she thought that the raspberries needed brightening up so that it could give it some extraa colour and depth. After taking this constructive criticism on board, I opened the photo back into photoshop and edited the raspberries to be more brighter. However, because I have faded the image on InDesign, the raspberries still looked dull and faded. After this discovery, I had to over expose the raspberries in order for them to stand out even when the image would be faded. This is what I did…

 

 

First, I used the Lasso Took to select just he raspberries on there own.

 

After that, I increased the saturation so that it was over saturated and much brighter than they were before. I then out them onto InDesign in the same position etc.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 11.24.21

 

After showing one of my tutors this, I was told that the text wasn’t properly in the columns, therefore i edited this so that they fitted in the perfectly. This is what it looks like now…

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 11.28.31.png

As you can see, the image that had to the right of the magazine before is no longer there. This is because in order to get the text to fit into the columns i had to adjust the text and therefore it would no longer fit in the place it was before. Therefore I moved it into the space i had after this onto the other page.

 

 


 

This is my other double page spread. During the production of this, I had a few issues. Firstly, when showing this to my tutor, I was told that that I need to use my columns more efficiently as the text was not in them properly. I edited this so that the text ow fitted into the columns.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 11.24.05.png

 

After that, I was told that there was a lot of negative space, and it looked too white. He said he felt like it needed a bit of colour. After experimenting with different ideas, I came up with a solution to make it look less empty. This was what I came up with…

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 11.06.12.png

 

I got another one of my images and layered it on top of my design. I also lowered the transparency so that it wasn’t that visible to see and Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 11.06.49.pngit was only light on the eye. However, I had an issue with he other pictures because it made them look slightly dull with his layered over the top of them. Therefore I opened the image up on Photoshop and erased the edges as you can see on this picture. This resolved the problem because it didn’t cover up the images on the edge of the picture.

 

 

I was also told that the quote o the bottom didn’t do the job its supposed to do. before, I chose the quote “it had rich flavours and that won me over”. This quote doesn’t draw the reader in or make them want to fin out more. Therefore I chose a more efficient quote; “the Kinder cake was definitely my favourite”. This sounds more intriguing because it makes the reader want to find out which cake won.

 

 


 

 

I have asked my tutor to read my articles to make sure that everything is spelled correctly and to see if everything sounds okay. I have gotten some feedback from her. She that she would like to find to more about the Aztecs and who they are in the Chocolate article because not all people will know who they are. She also said I needed to add quite a lot of information in my Oreo vs. Kinder cake article because there is a few things missing. I was told that it would be a good idea to give the article more reason to it. So write what the point of the article is and why I am writing it in the first place. Therefore I added more information on how the cakes are becoming more popular on social media etc. Problem i faced while doing this was getting the text back onto the spreads. This is because a good amount of text was added so I risked it not being able to fit back onto the spreads. Luckily, with a few movements of things around it, the text managed to fit on, I just had to make it a bit smaller. These are the articles now:

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 11.01.18Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 11.01.09

I am not starting my front cover, and beginning my editing the picture that is going to be on it on Photoshop.

This is the image I started with:

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 11.46.12

 

I want to edit this image so that the whole background is completely white. I also want to get rid of any blemishes that are on the images such as speckles, spots etc.

I started my adding a new layer so that I could paint the background white on this new layer. I did this by choosing a brush that didn’t have a sharp edge so that it wouldn’t look to sharp when drawing round the image. I also lowered the opacity down of the brush as well for this reason. After that, I chose the rubber tool and rubbed out any of the white that had gone over the image.

Then, I used the ‘spot healing tool’ to get rid of any spots or blemishes on the picture such as speckles of icing or marks anywhere. This was the result:

As yoDSCF1404u can see, I have also adjusted the photo so that it looks more brighter and less flat. I edited the levels, brightness, contrast and saturation. A problem I faced while editing this image is that hair was hard to draw round when I was making the background white because it has very fine pieces. However, I overcame this issue by fully zooming into the image as much as possible and choosing a small brush. I then was able to draw round the hair successfully. Although this took a long time to do, the results were successful and good enough to use in a real magazine.

 

 

 

After this,  I was ready to start putting my front cover together. I began by adding the image to InDesign. I wanted the whole image to fill the front page however, I thought that it looked a bit too plain because it was just plain white. Therefore, I had a look on my research at the moodboards I created and had a look at what the background was like on there front covers. I found that they were also fairly plane but had some sort of pattern on them. I then decided that a pale pink background would go well on this front cover so I went to Google Images and changed the users rights settings to “labelled to reuse” so that copyright wouldn’t be an issue, and found a zigzag pattern to go with it. I then had an issue with it covering the other image, therefore I took the zigzag image on Photoshop and used the rubber tool to rub out the image where the cake will be going. I uploaded it back on and it no longer covered the image.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 10.30.41.png

 

These are the different fonts that I like the look of for my magazine.  From researching what fonts other magazines that are similar to what i want to produce, these are the kind of fonts that i want to use. I have conducted some more research to find out which font would be best to use. this is in my research folder.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 13.46.42.png

This is my finished design.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that I have finished my two magazines and front cover, I now need to export the file as a PDF. However I am having issues with this…

 

These are my finished products..

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 13.46.42Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 11.57.01

qw

However, when I try and export it as a PDF, this is what it looks like..

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 09.09.10Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 09.09.03

As you can see, a few of my images are missing when I export it such as the drops of chocolate on the chocolate article or the background image on my Oreo VS Kinder article. I have asked a tutor who was appropriate for this topic and we both tried many y things to try and get them to work on the exported file such as changing the file type multiple times. We also Googled the issue so that we could try and resolve it but it said there is no known reason to why it happens. I kept trying to find a solution for this problem but in order to meet my deadline I had to prioritise for my evaluation and the rest of my work that needed improving.

 


 

These are the analyses that I have done fore my magazine.

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 14.40.15.png

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 15.24.08

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 15.30.46.png

