NEW DRIVERS ADMIT TO LACK OF ROAD SAFETY IN RECENT SURVEY

Many young drivers say they don’t know enough about road safety, according to a new report.
Continental Tyres surveyed 1,000 17-24 year-olds as part of a safety campaign.

Almost half of young people said they didn’t know where to start with car maintenance.
An updated driving test is also planned as road accidents kill a quarter of 15-19 year-olds.

Reece Payling (17) from Sheffield said: “If I’m going to be honest, I have taken my test but I don’t have a clue on anything to do with car maintenance.”
He went onto say “I do think that the test should include something about car maintenance such as how to change a tyre or a physical oil change. Its such a big thing about being safe on the road, which I think for the money that you’re paying for the test and lessons, it should be included.”

image

