Increased demand for vintage clothing means people are paying higher prices for them.

Many people are making money through this up and coming craze through online selling websites such as Depop. Young people can purchase vintage looking clothing from places such as charity shops or car boot sales and are selling them at much higher prices just by claiming them as vintage.

Vyn Johns is a studio that designs and creates people’s desired vintage wedding dresses.

People come from all over the UK to Sheffield just to get Vyn Johns to design their wedding dress.

Ronaldo Robinson (49), designer at Vyn Johns, said: “The word might change to describe vintage but it will always be a reflection of an older look. “For Vyn Johns, we class vintage as 1920s to 70s, but people always have different interpretations.

“When we talk of ‘antique’ lace we cannot dismiss the prevalent ‘vintage’ trend, which I believe is in part due to our desire for nostalgia – as often during times of austerity we seek comfort in the thing we know: the past. “Especially when there is uncertainty in the present and a fear of the future.”

Many people who are into vintage fashion- or even just anything vintage- attend vintage markets and fairs.

Katie Hetherington (22( from Bolton says: “I love the look of vintage and old style items such as typewriters and cameras, I think that mainly stems from being a writer really. Clothing wise I like the classy style, I think it looks good and I’m quite unique with how I dress and vintage clothing is limited so I don’t have people dressing in the same clothes.

“I got into vintage after finding the clothing in the shops didn’t suit or fit, clothing sizes are different in different clothing. Right now I’m a size 8/10 and find in H&M I fit a size 14, in Primark a size 8 and in New Look a 10. Back in the good old days sizes in ever shop were the same.”

She also says that by wearing vintage shes not comorted into societies look and she can wear something different from everyone else.

“Over the years I’ve found vintage shops via Facebook, Google and on street flyers. But its not just vintage shops that I solely look for, charity shops are just as fruitful and normally half price which is great because clothing in vintage shops was once owned by someone else so its the same principle but without the price tag.

“I do prefer to shop at charity shops because quite a lot of people don’t know the value of vintage clothing and do sell it really cheap. Usually I wouldn’t spend more than £25 on one item of clothing and much less for t-shirts unless its an authentic band t-shirt and a band I actually listen to.”

Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 13.28.08.png

 

